top of page
  • Carolyne

The End of the Year Book Tag 2021


This tag will be a great chance to look back at my 2021 reading journey so far, and to look forward to the last few books I will be reading in 2021 (hint: they are Christmas books!)


This tag was created by Ariel Bissett on YouTube.


Are there any books you started this year that you need to finish?

I have a book which I have been meaning to finish since 2020 - but that year doesn't count, right? I devoured the first few chapters of How Do We Know We're Doing It Right? by Pandora Sykes but stopped as I needed a break from non-fiction. As the book is composed of individual essays, you can definitely pick it up in between other books.


Do you have an autumnal book to transition into the end of the year?

Although I could best be described as an Autumn girl, I don't often read anything especially associated with that season. I only have one rule: I mustn't read any Christmas books before the 1st of December!


Is there a new release you’re still waiting for?

I'm looking forward to Kate Humble's Home Cooked: Recipes from the Farm, which is an extension of her successful Channel 5 program, Escape to the Farm - I'm a fan! It is publishing on the 3rd of February, and I cannot wait (look at this recipe!). Also, to my family and friends, can I please get a signed version, thank you very much.


What are three books you want to read before the end of the year?

If I can fit them in, at least two Christmas books - one of which will be Stay Another Day by June Dawson. I also quite like having a 'jokey' book to read towards the end of the year, as I don't have as much time to read by myself, being with my family over the festive period. I quite liked reading the Very British Problems books last year.


Is there a book you think could still shock you and become your favourite book of the year?

I already have a few titles that could totally claim a top spot in my favourite books of the year. However, I have high hopes and expectations for June Dawson's Christmas novel.


Have you already started making reading plans for next year?

I have an on-going TBR (shockingly long), so my plan for 2022 should rather be called 'all the books I haven't had time to read in 2021'. The only thing that I am yet to establish is my reading goal. I reached 50 in 2020 and presently on track for 35 in 2021. I will start with 30, aiming for more, as I should probably have more time on my hands in 2022 (so she says).


Feel free to share your answers below!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page